Denis Shapovalov explodes at Wimbledon umpire shouting ‘are you joking me’ after losing crucial point in Novak Djokovic semi-final clash
- Shapovalov erupted at the umpire during his semi-final clash with Djokovic
- Shapovalov was frustrated at a late line call made by the umpire on Friday
- He called the umpire a ‘joke’ and said that he call was ’30 minutes’ too late
- Shapovalov had previously vented his frustration at a separate Hawkeye call
Denis Shapovalov erupted at the umpire during his semi-final clash with Novak Djokovic on Friday afternoon.
Shapovalov – who went two sets down to the Serbian – had previously vented his frustration at a separate Hawkeye call earlier in the game.
However, this time he lost his cool and shouted at the umpire after he made a ‘late’ call on a crucial line decision.
Denis Shapovalov erupted at the umpire during his semi-final clash with Novak Djokovic
Djokovic won the second set after challenging a serve, which Shapovalov made an attempt to return.
Shapovalov said that the call from the umpire – which declared the ball was out – came after it was returned by his opponent.
Shapovalov was left furious after losing out on a crucial point in their semi-final clash.
The 22-year-old marched straight to the umpire’s chair during the break to express his feelings.
Shapovalov was frustrated at a late line call made by the umpire on Friday afternoon
He called the umpire a joke and said that he call was ’30 minutes’ too late after losing the point
He felt that the umpires timing was poor and shouted: ’30 minutes before my shot man, 30 minutes before my shot. What are you doing?!
‘How can you call that on set point, are you joking? Are you joking? The call comes 30 minutes before my shot.
’30 minutes before my shot I didn’t go for it, I slid. I slid. What are you doing?’
Shapovalov demanded that the point to be replayed. However the umpire refused to do so.
Boris Becker felt that Shapovalov was using the incident to vent his frustration at the game and his own performance.
He said: ‘It’s clearly not about this point but about the fact he hasn’t won any of the first two sets.’
While Tim Henman said that Shapovalov had shown himself up by exploding on the court.
Djokovic went on to win the game and advance to the tournament’s final on Sunday
‘I think Shapovalov has actually got it wrong,’ he said.
‘Djokovic has hit the serve out wide and then as Shapovalov has gone to try and get the return back in play as he wasn’t able to do, the time judge has called the serve out.
‘But the call came after Shapovalov had hit his return into the net.
‘Therefore it didn’t have any baring on his shot, so once they went to the challenge and showed that the ball was in, therefore it’s the umpire’s call.
‘He felt it was after Shapovalov’s return and therefore it was Djokovic’s point, game and set.’
Share this article
Source: Read Full Article