Melbourne Cup 2020 guide

The race that stops a nation is just days away from being run as the field begins to narrow.

One of the biggest days on the Australian sporting calendar will be an interesting spectacle this time around with no crowds being allowed to pack out the Flemington stands and access to pubs limited in some states.

Kayo is your ticket to the best sport streaming Live & On-Demand. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

Despite the lack of fans attending the famous race or forking over $2 for an office sweep, a field of 24 horses will race over the 3200m distance with a staggering $8 million in prize money.

The final field of 24 will be determined on Sunday night when the barriers are drawn for the Melbourne Cup.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the big race.


Like every year, the running of the Melbourne Cup takes place on the first Tuesday in November. This year it’s on November 3 with the race to be run at 3pm (AEDT).


Network 10 will broadcast live from Flemington from 10am until 5.30pm. Coverage will also be streamed on 10 Play.


The same prize money is on offer in 2020 as it was in 2019 with a total of $8 million dollars on the table. The breakdown for horses in the race is as follows:

1st $4.4 million, 2nd: $1.1 million, 3rd: $550,000, 4th: $350,000, 5th: $230,000, 6th-12th: $160,000


Racing Minister Martin Pakula announced connections and owners will not be allowed to attend this year’s event, despite the easing of coronavirus restrictions in Melbourne.

“The Government has determined that next week is not a suitable time for gatherings of that nature,” Pakula said.

“It is the right decision and has been made in the interests of all Victorians.”

Surprise Baby.Source:Getty Images


International raiders are currently listed as the betting favourites less than a week out from the big race with Irish import Tiger Moth the frontrunner.

Aidan O’Brien’s horse is the shortest priced despite having never run on Australian shores. He’s followed by Sir Dragonet who surged in betting after winning the Cox Plate.

Local hope Surprise Baby sits fourth in the market with Prince of Arran, who finished second in last year’s race, narrowly behind.

$7 Tiger Moth & Sir Dragonet

$9 Anthony Van Dyck

$10 Surprise Baby

$11 Prince of Arran, Russian Camelot & Very Elleegant

*betting odds via Ladbrokes


The Melbourne Cup Day line-up consists of Delta Goodrem, The Rubens, Jon Stevens and his band, Bonnie Anderson and Pete Murray.

Goodrem will perform from Sydney with Stevens and his band to perform the INXS classic Never Tear Us Apart from the Flemington stands.

Masked Singer winner Bonnie Anderson will perform the national anthem.


2019: Vow and Declare, 2018: Cross Counter, 2017: Rekindling, 2016: Almandin, 2015: Prince of Penzance, 2014: Protectionist, 2013: Fiorente, 2012: Green Moon, 2011: Dunaden, 2010: Americain, 2009: Shocking, 2008: Viewed, 2007: Efficient, 2006: Delta Blues, 2005-03: Makybe Diva, 2002: Media Puzzle, 2001: Ethereal, 2000: Brew.


Horse — Trainer — Weight

1: Verry Elleegant (NZ) — Chris Waller — 55.5kg

2: Sir Dragonet (IRE) — Ciaron Maher & David Eustace — 55.5kg

3: Oceanex (NZ) — Mick Price & Michael Kent — 51.5kg

4: Persan — Ciaron Maher & David Eustace — 51kg

5: Anthony Van Dyck (IRE) — Aidan O’Brien — 58.5kg

6: Vow and Declare — Danny O’Brien — 57kg

7: Avilius (GB) — James Cummings — 57kg

8: Russian Camelot (IRE) — Danny O’Brien — 53.5kg

9: Master of Reality (IRE) — Joseph O’Brien — 56kg

10: Twilight Payment (IRE) — Joseph O’Brien — 55.5kg

11: Tiger Moth (IRE) — Aidan O’Brien — 52.5kg

12: Mustajeer (GB) — Kris Lees — 55kg

13: Stratum Albion (GB) — Willie Mullins — 55kg

14: Prince of Arran (GB) — Charlie Fellowes — 54.5kg

15: Warning — Anthony & Sam Freedman — 53kg

16: Surprise Baby (NZ) — Paul Preusker — 54.5kg

17: Dashing Willoughby (GB) — Andrew Balding — 54.5kg

18: Finche (GB) — Chris Waller — 54.5kg

19: Etah James (NZ) — Ciaron Maher & David Eustace — 52.5kg

20: Miami Bound (NZ) — Danny O’Brien — 51kg

21: The Chosen One (NZ) — Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman — 53.5kg

22: Steel Prince (IRE) — Anthony & Sam Freedman — 53.5kg

23: King of Leogrance (FR) — Danny O’Brien — 53.5kg

24: True Self (IRE) — Willie Mullins — 52kg

25: Zebrowski (NZ) — Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes — 52kg

26: San Huberto (IRE) — Matt Cumani — 53.5kg

27: Nickajack Cave (IRE) — Peter G Moody — 53.5kg

28: Platinum Invador (NZ) — Peter G Moody — 53kg

29: Ashrun (FR) — Andreas Wohler — 53kg

30: Hush Writer (JPN) — Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott — 52.5kg

31: Le Don De Vie (GB) — Anthony & Sam Freedman — 52.5kg

32: Skyward (FR) — Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young — 52.5kg

33: Sound (GER) — Michael Moroney — 52kg

34: Azuro (FR) — Ciaron Maher & David Eustace — 52kg

35: Chapada — Michael Moroney — 52kg

36: Carif — Peter & Paul Snowden — 52kg

37: Haky (IRE) — Archie Alexander — 52kg

38: Gallic Chieftain (FR) — Archie Alexander — 51kg

39: Pondus (GB) — Joseph O’Brien — 51kg

40: Schabau (GER) — Robert Hickmott — 50.5kg

41: Attorney (FR) — Matthew Smith — 50kg

42: Lord Belvedere (GB) — Ciaron Maher & David Eustace — 50.5kg

43: Admire Robson (JPN) — Paul Preusker — 50kg

44: Future Score (IRE) — Matt Cumani — 50kg

45: Saracen Knight (IRE) — Danny O’Brien — 50kg

Source: Read Full Article