Six Man Utd stars make Europa League’s squad of the season despite final defeat

Six Manchester United players have been included in the Europa League squad of the season.

That's despite the Red Devils coming up short in the final, beaten on penalties by La Liga outfit Villarreal.

The eventual winners also have six players named in the squad, which included Harry Maguire and Aaron Wan-Bissaka from Old Trafford.

Bruno Fernandes, Paul Pobga and Scott McTominay are named in the midfield while Uruguayan star Edinson Cavani is one of five forwards.

Arsenal ace Nicolas Pepe was the only other player from a British club included with the Gunners bowing out at the semi-final stage.

Maguire missed out on the final, failing to recover from an injury, with the Red Devils missing their club captain.

The defender posted an image of himself on social media collecting his runners-up medal and vowed to improve next year.

Alongside Wednesday night's pic, Maguire wrote: “Win together – Lose together. Everybody is hurt, this club is about winning. #UNITED”

Europa League squad of the season

Goalkeepers: Dominik Livakovic (Dinamo Zagreb), Pau Lopez (Roma), Geronimo Rulli (Villarreal).

Defenders: Raul Albiol (Villarreal), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Aaron Wan-Bissaka (Manchester United), Gianluca Mancini (Roma), Leonardo Spinzzola (Roma), Alfonso Pedraza (Villarreal), Pau Torres (Villarreal).

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Daniel Parejo (Villarreal), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Etienne Capoue (Villarreal), Mislav Orsic (Dinamo Zagreb), Lukas Provod (Slavia Praha), Scott McTominay (Manchester United).

Forwards: Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Edinson Cavani (Manchester United), Dusan Tadic (Ajax), Edin Dzeko (Roma), Nicolas Pepe (Arsenal).

Source: Read Full Article