MNF rank England’s 12 greatest ever teams, with Liverpool and Man Utd dominating

Sky Sports’ Monday Night Football team have determined which is the best English team in history.

Liverpool legend Jamie Carragher and Manchester United hero Gary Neville developed a ranking system to work out which sides are superior from down the years.

The ‘greatest English club side’ was decided based on how teams fared over a three-year period.

Trophy success, domestically and in Europe, earned points, with the Champions League proving the most lucrative piece of silverware.

The reward for European glory was five points, while the title in England’s top flight got four points.

  • Liverpool fans in coronavirus quarantine following trip to Atletico Madrid in Champions League

  • Ed Woodward makes Man Utd squad rebuild vow as club detail latest financial results

A three-year window was believed to be long enough to say a team is truly great while not covering too long a timeframe for the side’s personel to be altered massively.

12 teams from down the years in English football were selected for the accolade, including three different United sides and two of Liverpool’s.

Chelsea, Arsenal, Everton, Leeds, Aston Villa, Tottenham and Nottingham Forest all featured too.

  • Toni Kroos opens up on calls from Liverpool players and being ghosted by Man Utd

Propping up the table was Leeds, who amassed nine points from their period spanning 1968 up to 1971.

At the other end of the rankings was, unsurprisingly, Liverpool.

It wasn’t Jurgen Klopp’s team for a change, although they could enter the table depending on how the Reds continue to progress over the next couple of years.

  • Man Utd star Paul Pogba speaks out on Liverpool's impending Premier League title win

Liverpool’s side from 1975 to 1978 under Bob Paisley was deemed to be the greatest ever English club side.

Their 23 points was generated from three league titles, back-to-back European Cup successes and a UEFA Cup triumph.

Shortly below them in the standings were United from 2006 to 2009 under Sir Alex Ferguson.

Read More

Today's top football stories on Daily Star

  • Aubameyang Arsenal worry as talks stall
  • Barca stars to undergo coronavirus tests
  • Beckham want to sign Messi AND Ronaldo
  • Gerrard says Henderson nearly quit Reds

The Red Devils earned 21 points over that period by clinching three Premier League titles, winning the Champions League, finishing as runners up in the same competition a year later, and lifting the League Cup trophy.

Two different Liverpool and United eras made up the next two teams, sharing third place.

Liverpool’s 1981-84 side and United’s from 1998-01 each collected 20 points.

Source: Read Full Article